Intercom automatically consolidates conversations your users have when they are logged out, with the conversations they have when they are logged in.

We do this by merging leads (visitors to your site who start a conversation) into users who have the same email address, the next time a user logs in.

Because a malicious visitor might claim to be a user by identifying themselves with a user's email address, we add a warning symbol below some messages to flag that they may not be from the user.

You'll also see this warning if a lead follows a tracked link to your site from an email you sent them, and starts a conversation in the Messenger.

Did this answer your question?