Manual messages are real-time, one-off messages that you can send to one or more customers. If you have our Messages product, you can start a conversation with an individual user, or send a manual message to multiple users or an entire segment from your user list.
You can also message an individual user from their profile page. If your users don't match the criteria there and then, they won't receive the message.
What’s the difference between manual and auto messages?
Manual messages are different from auto messages because you choose the recipients and send them yourself, in real-time. Auto messages continue to send automatically to users as soon as they match the criteria that you set.
Sending manual messages from your desktop
To send a message to more than one user, select their names in the user list and click the message button that appears at the top of the screen.
This will open the simple message composer where you can choose whether you’d like to send an in-app or email message. You can also write your message here, style it however you like and send it.
If you'd like to send a manual message to users who match certain filters (for example, users who have signed up more than 30 days ago), just hit the ‘Message’ button without selecting any individual users and select the ‘Manual Message’ option.
This will open the manual message composer where you can choose your message type (in-app or email), add filters to set your audience, write your message, style your message and send it.
Start a conversation with one user
To start a conversation with one user, just select their name from the user list and click the 'Start a conversation' button that appears at the top of the screen.
Alternatively, you can message users from their profile, by clicking the ‘Start a conversation’ button.
Manual in-app messages sent to one user are sent in real-time if the customer is online at the time you send it. If the user is not online, they’ll see your conversation the next time they see the Messenger.
To see a conversation you’ve started with one user, you can view this conversation from within the user’s profile, your own profile, the manual message list or in your Closed conversation list in the Inbox.
Note: If you are sending a message to more than one person and the end user has not yet received the message (e.g. it is still "pending", and we are waiting for the user to come online to trigger the in-app, or waiting for a delivery time to open so we can send the email or push message), that pending message will not show on the user's profile. It will show there once the message has been sent.
Searching for your manual messages
The search bar at the top of your manual message list helps you to quickly find your sent, draft, and scheduled messages. You can search by message title or sender name.
Stopping manual messages
You can 'Stop' any manual in-app message you've sent from sending to new users. This is useful if you've sent a message by mistake, noticed a typo, or sent a message with time-sensitive content that's no longer relevant, for example.
Important: If you stop sending a message, it’s not possible to resume it. If you’d like to send the content again, you’ll need to send a new message that targets those who haven't received the previous message. You can check your 'Sent' stats to see how many people were sent the message before you stopped it.
Sending manual messages from your mobile
To send a manual message to one of your users, select their user profile from the activity feed, a segment, or the 'All users' list. Click the message icon in the bottom left-hand corner of the screen to compose and send your message. The message is sent as an in-app chat by default, but you can send it as an in-app announcement or by email too.
Check out these ideas of the types of manual messages you can send to engage your customers and get the feedback you need.