Company data in rule blocks
If you group your users by company in Intercom, there are some things to keep in mind when creating rules in a series.
Note: The following only applies if you have users who are a member of more than one company. If each user is only in a single company there’s no difference in how rule blocks work.
If you use company data in a rule block like ‘Company size is greater than 50’ your users will be checked against the rules once per company.
For example, if you have a user who is a member of two companies of different sizes:
- Company 1 has 100 people.
- Company 2 has 20 people.
This user will be treated as two distinct combinations of user and company:
- User at Company 1
- User at Company 2
Each of these ‘versions’ of the user can match the rules individually and proceed down different paths accordingly. So ‘User at company 1’ would match this rule, and proceed down ‘Path 1’:
And ‘User at Company 2’ would not match, so would proceed down ‘Path 2’:
This means, a single user can be in more than one path, and receive messages from each of them.
If a user matches a rule with more than one company, multiple ‘versions’ of that user will proceed down the same path, and receive each message once per company.
So if you changed the rule in this example to ‘Companies with 20 people or more’ both ‘User at Company 1’ and ‘User at Company 2’ would proceed to the message in ‘Path 1’, and the user would receive it for each company that matched the rules:
To ensure that every series is simple to manage, and works smoothly there are some limits in place:
- Each series can have a total of 250 blocks. — This includes rule, content, tag and wait blocks.
- Each series can have up to 10 entry rule blocks.
- You can have up to 500 live series in your Intercom workspace.
- Each block in a series can have up to 7 separate paths branching after it:
It’s not possible to create a series with infinite loops, where a customer returns to a previous point in the series and receives the same content again. You’ll see the following warning if you attempt to do so:
Editing a live series
If you have a live series, where customers have already entered there are some things to consider before editing it.
- If you add more content to a series in a path the customer has already passed through, they will not receive this content.
- If you add more content to a point in the series they have not yet reached, they’ll receive that content as normal once they reach it.
- If you add a new path to a series, or a new entry rules block, customers already in the Series are eligible to enter these new paths.
- If you delete a block that customers are waiting at (e.g. a message or a rule block), they’ll be removed from that point. They will not proceed to any subsequent block in the flow.
- If you make content changes to a message that customers are waiting to receive, they will receive the latest version of the content when they come online.
If you delete a live series, all customers will exit, and they’ll receive no further content.
Testing a series
If you'd like to test a series before you set it live for your customers, add a specific entry rule for your email address and only you can enter:
Note: You will also have to match other rules to enter the series, or proceed down paths.
For example, if you're testing an onboarding series, you should sign up as a new user and complete the same actions they would take in your product to receive the messages in your series.
Then when you're happy with how it performs, you can remove the specific email address rule, and it will start matching other users.