Sometimes you’ll want to loop another customer into a conversation, the same way you might CC someone in an email. For example, a customer might need to get their manager’s input on a specific issue, like pricing. It’s easy to add another customer to a conversation.
Add a customer to a conversation
Just click the ‘Add Customer’ button at the top of a conversation and enter the email address of the customer you’d like to add. You can add as many participants as you need 😄
You can then navigate between each user's profile at the side of the conversation:
Important: You can only add users and leads to the conversation. If you’d like to loop a teammate into a conversation, you’ll need to mention them in a note.
Who gets notified when new customers are added?
When a new customer joins the conversation, we’ll notify the original customer in the Messenger.
We’ll email the new participant to let them know they’ve been added. They’ll see the full conversation history, so they’ll have all of the context they need to reply.
For future replies, we’ll let all participants know who's involved in the conversation.
Note: The newly added customer won’t get notified in the Messenger itself. They’ll only get notified by email, and they’ll need to reply by email.
Remove a customer from a conversation
When someone’s input is no longer needed, you can remove them from the conversation so they won’t see any more replies.
Add a customer to a conversation on the move
If you have the Intercom Conversations app, you can easily add a customer to the conversation while you’re on the move.
Just tap the ‘info’ icon at the top right hand corner of your screen, then select ‘Add customer’ and enter the email address of the customer you’d like to add.
Remove company email addresses from group conversations
When you receive incoming messages from customers, your company’s support addresses (e.g. firstname.lastname@example.org) are often included. You’ll need to mark these addresses as ‘company addresses’ so we know to ignore them, and not show them as participants in the conversation.
Note: You can remove a customer on the mobile app too. Just tap the ‘info’ icon at the top right hand corner of your screen, then select the name of the customer you’d like to remove and select ‘Remove customer.’