Users will exit a campaign if they:
- Receive all live messages in the campaign.
- Hit the goal of the campaign.
- Have not received a message for x days (for each campaign, you can adjust the length of time between 15 and 90 days in increments of 15).
- Have met all the exit criteria for that campaign.
- If you're using company data and the goal is based on an action that can only happen once, e.g: 'Event = triggered' then only one member of the company can hit the goal. Only this member will exit the campaign and the other people in the company will remain in the campaign. This will also be reflected in your stats, it can only be incremented for the amount of users who actually hit the goal, which may just be one. If you want everyone in a company to exit a campaign upon hitting the goal, add it to the exit criteria instead of the goal.
- Users can only enter a campaign once. If a user exits a campaign, they won’t be able to enter that campaign again.
- Any changes you make to your exit criteria won't come into effect unless you set the campaign live.
How do I remove users who I don’t want to receive campaign messages?
Users can be removed from a campaign using exit criteria. The easiest way to remove users is to tag them with a campaign specific tag, like “Onboarding Campaign Opt-Out”. You can then set that tag as exit criteria for your campaign.
How often does Intercom exit users from the campaign?
We exit users who match the rules you’ve set:
- Once every 2 hours.
- Or when the user’s information is updated (for example, when they login).
Can a user unsubscribe from a particular campaign?
If a user unsubscribes from a campaign email, they’re unsubscribing from all email messages, not just messages belonging to that campaign.
You can find out more about how campaign goals work here.