Teams are a great way for groups of people in your company to work together in Intercom. You can assign conversations to a team, rather than an individual teammate. Every team has its own space in the inbox, so members can easily see and manage the conversations assigned to the group. 

Here are a few examples of how you might want to use teams:

  • New lead? Assign pricing related conversations to the sales team
  • Bonjour! Assign conversations in French to a group of French speakers
  • Request for event sponsorship? Pass along the conversation to the marketing team

Setting up teams

You can set up a team by clicking on the arrow beside ‘All’ in the inbox, or in your team settings. Each team is given an emoji avatar when you create it. You can change this to something that best represents your team. The avatar is only seen in Intercom, so your users will never see it.

Note: When you add teammates to a team, an email notification is sent to let them know.

Once you set up a team, you can view the team in the inbox and see any conversations assigned to the team. 

In the top bar of the inbox, you'll see a dropdown to select teams, or see 'All' conversations. If you have multiple teams set up, you can switch between them, like this:

Once you've selected your team, you'll see the members of the team to the right of the dropdown. 

Using teams in Intercom

There are three main ways teams can improve your workflow:

  • When you are assigning a conversation, you can assign it to a team instead of an individual. Teams appear at the end of the list of teammates, whenever you assign things in Intercom. Assigning a conversation to a team means it will appear in that team's space in the inbox, so team members can pick it up and respond.  
  • When you are sending a message, you can assign replies to a team. This means that you could assign replies from product announcements to your marketing team, or replies from onboarding messages to your customer success team.
  • You can use assignment rules to assign incoming messages to a team, just as you would a teammate. This allows you to assign billing queries to the sales team, high paying users to a VIP support team, or Spanish speakers to the Spanish support team.

Notifications

If you have notifications turned on for conversations assigned to you, then you will also receive a notification if a conversation is assigned to a Team you are a member of.

Did this answer your question?