All Collections
Automation
Optimizing
Auto-close incomplete Workflows conversations
Auto-close incomplete Workflows conversations

Close conversations with customers who have stopped interacting with a customer facing workflow

Ivan avatar
Written by Ivan
Updated over a week ago

To increase your team’s efficiency, you can auto-close conversations where customers stop interacting with your customer facing Workflows.

This will allow your team to better organize the Inbox, so they can focus on conversations that require their attention.

To do this, just go to Automation > Settings and choose "Auto-close abandoned workflow conversations" and then, tick the box for situations where you'd like to auto-close conversations:

Finally, select how long the bot should wait before auto-closing the conversation:

The wait time before closing the conversation cannot be customized. You can choose from 3, 5, 7, 10, or 15 minutes.

During the Workflow, there are different points where the bot will wait for customer input. At each of these points, a timer starts. Now, if customers don’t reply (or interact with a Workflow buttons) within the specified length of time, the conversation will automatically close.

For visitor and lead conversations, if an email or phone number is collected, then the conversation is left open. This allows your team to engage with prospects that have provided contact information but may have stopped engaging with the Workflow 👌

By default, conversations started by Workflows will appear in your "Unassigned" inbox. By auto-closing them, they will automatically be moved to your closed conversations list, so your team can focus on conversations that require their attention.


How is Workflow interaction completion defined?

Workflow interaction completion is defined as

  • The end user reached the end of the Workflow

    • Reached an end path on a Workflow

  • The end user stops interacting with a Workflow for 3 minutes and the auto-close abandoned conversations feature is not enabled.

The end user can resume interacting with Workflow after 3 minutes but assignment rules will have been run and the conversation will now appear in a teammate-watched inbox, such as Unassigned.


💡Tip

Need more help? Get support from our Community Forum
Find answers and get help from Intercom Support and Community Experts


Did this answer your question?