Sometimes certain content is only suitable for a subset of customers or visitors on your Help Center. With audience targeting, it’s easy to show only relevant articles, while hiding other content.
This allows you to protect sensitive information from your competitors, offer tailored advice and provide all your users and leads with a clean and simple Help Center experience.
You can share private articles with your users through the Messenger home, share them in the Inbox, or include them in Resolution bot answers or Custom Bots.
Note: Audience targeting is only available with certain Intercom plans.
How do I make an article private?
If an article is published in a collection, it’s visible to everyone by default. To define exactly who should be able to view it, click Edit settings.
Start by choosing if the article should be visible to Leads, Users, Visitors, or a combination of the three:
Tip: To keep an article hidden from anyone not logged in to your product, just select Users here, and that's it. 👍
Next, click + Add audience rule to define a more specific audience, then choose the attributes you’d like to filter on.
As an example, if this article is only relevant to users on your ‘Pro’ plan, you could add a rule for ‘Plan is Pro’:
Important: To create audience targeting filters you must:
Have a custom domain set up,
Cookie forwarding set up and
Login link specified in your Help Center settings under Privacy
After defining your filters, click Save settings then you can set your article live:
If you define a specific audience for an article:
The Smart Suggestions task bot won’t suggest it to people who don’t match your filters.
It won’t be listed by search engines like Google.
Only people in the audience will see it when searching your Help Center. - Including those who search it in the Messenger.
Teammates will see a "🔒[Restricted]” warning before inserting it into Resolution Bot answers, messages, Custom Bots or the Messenger.
Teammates can’t send it to people who don't match the audience filters in Inbox.
What does it look like in the Help Center?
If an article is only visible to logged in users, anyone who visits it while logged out will be shown a link to your website's login page:
If the article has a more targeted audience (i.e not all logged in users) people who aren’t in the audience won’t be shown a login link, but will still have the option to search your Help Center:
Find out what your customers are searching for, so you can help them answer their questions.
Need more help? Get support from our Community Forum
Find answers and get help from Intercom Support and Community Experts