Sometimes certain content is only suitable for your logged-in users. With audience targeting, it’s easy to show customers relevant articles, while hiding other content from logged-out visitors. This allows you to protect sensitive information from your competitors, and provide potential customers (logged-out visitors) with a clean and simple Help Center experience.
You can share private articles with your users through the Messenger home, share them in the Inbox, or include them in Answer bot answers or Custom Bots.
Note: You'll need Articles Pro to make your articles private.
Before making your articles private, there are a couple of things to set up. You can find them in this guide.
How do I make an article private?
If an article is published in a collection, it’s visible to everyone by default. You can make it only available to users by switching this toggle on the left hand side.
If you set an article to 'Users only':
- The Smart Suggestions task bot won’t suggest it to visitors on your site.
- It won’t be listed by search engines like Google.
- Only logged-in users will see it when searching your Help Center.
- Teammates will see a "?User only” warning before inserting it into Answer Bot answers, messages or Custom Bots.
- Teammates can’t send it to logged-out visitors in Inbox. See below:
What does it look like in the Help Center?
Logged-out visitors who access a private article directly, (through a shared link for example) will be shown a link to your website's login page: