Yes, you can choose to disable the ability for customers to upload attachments. 

By default, your customers can send attachments via the Messenger, email, API, and Facebook. 

Note: Attachments are not currently available through Twitter. 

How do attachments work?

When uploaded, attachments become linked attachments, which is standard treatment for email and message deliverability purposes. By default, linked attachments are not indexed by search engines and are not predictable. However, you should take care not to share linked attachments publicly.

While uploading, attachments are scanned for harmful viruses, and if one is detected, then the file is quarantined and will not be accessible. 

The size limit on individual attachments is 40mb and there is currently no limit on the number of attachments that can be uploaded. 

How do I disable attachments?

If you'd like to disable the ability for customers to upload attachments, just uncheck the 'Conversation attachments' box in your security settings

If you disable attachments, the Messenger will not allow files to be dragged and dropped into the conversation, and will remove the attachments option.

If a customer sends you an email with an attachment, the attachment will not be processed. You'll receive a notification in the conversation that an attachment wasn't processed. 

Delete attachments

If you'd like to delete an attachment you've received, just click 'delete' in the attachment's options:

If you would like to export attachments, you can do this individually. Or, if you would like to bulk Export or Delete attachments from your Workspace, get in touch with us in the Messenger.

Did this answer your question?