If you’d like to prevent customers responding to conversations after they’ve been closed, you can enable this as a setting for your workspace. You can choose how long a conversation must have been closed before it can no longer be replied to.
This can help you measure your support team’s performance by the number of conversations closed.
Enable reply prevention in your settings
To set this up, go to your Messenger settings and open the ‘Control inbound conversations and launcher visibility’ section:
You’ll see a toggle with two options under ‘Prevent replies to closed conversations’.
Visitors (this includes Leads).
For each option you can define a delay (in days). After that time limit a conversation can no longer be replied to by a customer:
👆This example shows that users can reply to closed conversations for up to a week.
If this is switched off, customers will be able to reply to a closed conversation at any time, which will reopen it.
Important: Enabling this feature will affect all existing conversations that have recently been closed. If they have passed the delay you set, your customers will not be able to reply.
Can teammates reopen closed conversations?
Yes. If a teammate replies to the conversation at any point after it has been closed, it will reopen for the customer. This allows you to follow up with customers after issues have been resolved, or updates released etc.
What do customers see?
With this setting enabled, your customers will still be able to view their closed conversations in the Messenger, but won’t be able to reply directly. Instead, they’ll be encouraged to start a new conversation:
With this setting enabled, your customers can reply to notifications sent via email, and those replies will open a new conversation in Intercom.
Important: If your emails are configured to come from your teammate's individual email addresses and an end user replies directly to a teammate, the new conversation will be assigned to that teammate.