You can share Product Tours in many places to help guide customers wherever they are. For example, you can:
- Provide support that goes beyond words by sharing tours in conversations.
- Drive better adoption with tours in messages and campaigns.
- Help customers find what they’re looking for with Resolution Bot.
- Capture your customers’ intent and help them reach their goals with Custom Bots.
- Re-engage customers who are away from your product by sharing a tour as a link in emails.
Note: If you want to automatically show tours to a target audience, read this article.
How to share a Product Tour
To set up sharing for your tour, go to Step 3 "Use tour everywhere":
Next, add the page URL where your tour begins when you share it:
Why a tour needs a sharing URL: If you share a tour, customers could be anywhere when they click to view it. We require a URL so we can bring them to the page your tour starts on. You should ensure all customers can access this URL. Otherwise, some may not be able to view your tour.
To ensure your tour always sends, we recommend using URLs anyone can access. However, if you need to use a URL that contains a unique parameter, like a company ID, you can insert attributes to create a dynamic URL:
Note: The unique parameters must be attributes in Intercom to be added to the sharing URL.
Once you’ve added a URL, hit ‘Done’:
Now you can insert tours in conversations, bots and messages, emails and more.
Note: Sharing tours is an optional step. You can turn this step on/off:
Here’s how tours will show in each of the ways you can share them:
Guide customers as you chat
If a customer asks about a new feature or has a common support request, you could proactively guide them by sharing a tour in the conversation. Just click on the product tours icon to choose a tour:
Once you add the tour to your reply, your customer can view the tour directly from the conversation:
Note: When customers click ‘View tour’, they’ll be redirected to the URL where your tour starts, that you defined under "use tour everywhere":
Proactively engage customers with a tour in a message
If you use Messages to engage your customers, you can proactively guide customers by inserting a Product Tour into a message. Also, if you onboard or nurture customers with smart campaigns, you can use tours in a campaign message to help them quickly adopt your product.
When you’re creating a message, just insert the tour of your choice:
Once you set your message live, customers who receive it will be able to take a tour straight from your message.
Capture customer intent and guide them with Custom Bots
With Custom Bots, you can proactively capture your customers’ intent and guide them down the right path to success. For example, you could find out what feature they want to learn about. Once you capture their answer, you could use a tour to show them how to use that feature:
When setting up your bot, just add a tour to one of your bot’s paths:
Once live, customers who want to take the direct route to learning about your product can take a tour.
Show customers the solution with Resolution Bot
Resolution Bot instantly resolves common questions at scale. You can make answers even more effective by using Product Tours to automatically guide customers. For example, questions such as “How do I find my notification settings?”, or "How do I change my billing details?" provide you with the opportunity to show customers the answer with a tour.
When creating an answer, just insert a tour:
Now, when customers ask that common question, Resolution Bot will share your tour to guide customers at scale.
Share tours in emails or anywhere else
You can easily share tours in emails, articles or anywhere. In Step 3 "Use tour everywhere", just hover over the grey box beside your sharing URL. Then, click ‘Copy entire URL’ on the tooltip that appears:
Now, just add it as a hyperlink to your product, an email, article or anywhere else you’d like to share it. When customers follow the link, they’ll be redirected to this URL and the tour will begin.
Can a user take a tour more than once?
Tours shared with these methods will only send once per web session but can be seen by the same user multiple times if they are shared again. If you are testing your tour, you will need to open a new browser window or tab for it to send again.
Once you’ve set up automatic targeting and sharing your tour, the final step is to publish your tour.
Note: Tours must be published before your customers can see them.
Before you publish your tour, learn how to test it here.