Accessibility
Is Knowledge available on my plan?
Is Knowledge available on my plan?
Yes, the Knowledge feature is available on all plans and can be accessed from the main menu on the left under Knowledge.
Who can view content in Knowledge?
Who can view content in Knowledge?
Any teammate on your workspace will be able to view content within Knowledge. This includes teammates with full seats and lite seats. However, only teammates with full seats will be able to manage content in Knowledge if the Knowledge permission is enabled.
Managing knowledge
Can I restrict who creates and manages content in Knowledge?
Can I restrict who creates and manages content in Knowledge?
Yes, you can restrict who creates and manages content in Knowledge by setting each teammate's Knowledge permissions. Knowledge has two separate permissions, and each one has three levels.
Permissions for content (snippets, internal articles, and syncs):
Can view content
Can view content and propose changes in a draft release
Can view content and publish changes directly to main (individually or in a release)
Permissions for help center articles:
Can view help center articles
Can view help center articles and propose changes in a draft release
Can view help center articles and publish changes directly to main (individually or in a release)
Help center articles also have a Can manage saved views for Help Center articles checkbox.
Set each permission separately, so a teammate can have a different level for content than for help center articles. See Teammate permissions: how to control workspace access for how to set these permissions for a teammate or a custom role.
Can I bulk delete content in Knowledge?
Can I bulk delete content in Knowledge?
External sources you have synced with Knowledge can be removed and this will delete all of their content. However, you can’t select content in Knowledge and delete it as a bulk action. You need to open the individual content items and then delete them.
When are updates to content re-synced with Intercom and made available to Fin?
When are updates to content re-synced with Intercom and made available to Fin?
Updates to content created natively in intercom are available to Fin AI Agent and Copilot immediately.
Internal articles from Confluence, Guru, or Notion usually sync within a few minutes of a change in the source, including new, edited, and deleted pages and cards. A full sync also runs every 24 hours as a backup. For Confluence, real-time updates need Intercom's Confluence app, which you can install by clicking Edit source on your Confluence source. You can also re-sync a source manually at any time.
Public articles from Zendesk usually sync within a few minutes of a change, and are also synced every hour. If your Zendesk source was set up before real-time updates were available, you may need to reconnect it once, which needs a Zendesk admin.
Webpages (public URLs) are synced weekly, even if there's an update to the external content in the meantime. To re-sync immediately, you’ll need to do this manually.
Changes made to PDF files aren’t synced, you'll need to remove and re-add the PDF if you make changes.
How long is the content data retained in Intercom’s system after it's deleted?
How long is the content data retained in Intercom’s system after it's deleted?
Once the next content ingestion for your workspace is completed, the content will be gone from our system.
How can I see which knowledge sources Fin uses and how well they perform?
How can I see which knowledge sources Fin uses and how well they perform?
The Fin AI Agent content performance chart, available in Reports, shows how each article, snippet, or synced source is performing. Sort the table by Fin AI Agent involved and resolved conversations to compare how often a piece of content was involved in a conversation versus how often it led to a resolution. This highlights content with high involvement but low resolution — a sign the information may be missing, inaccurate, or hard to follow.
If your workspace has the Pro add-on, the easiest way to find this is to ask Operator directly. For example: "Show me articles with high Fin involvement and low resolution rate (e.g. below 70%) from the past week." This surfaces high-involvement articles falling below that resolution threshold, which you can then drill into to see when they were cited, what customers were asking, and how teammates resolved the conversation — helping you identify knowledge gaps and content improvements.
What's the difference between Help Center audience and Fin audience?
What's the difference between Help Center audience and Fin audience?
Note: To configure Fin audience settings, teammates need the "Can view content and publish changes directly to main (individually or in a release)" permission.
When using Fin, it's important to understand the two different types of audience targeting you can apply to public articles. These settings work together to control who can see an article in your Help Center and if Fin can use an article when responding to a customer.
What’s the difference?
Help Center audience: This setting controls who can view an article in your Help Center. If a customer doesn’t match the Help Center audience, they won't be able to see or access the article, even if they have a direct link.
Fin audience: This setting controls which articles Fin can use when generating an AI answer for a customer.
Setting up Help Center and Fin audiences
Navigate to Knowledge and open the article you want to configure.
In the Details panel on the right, go to the Help Center section and set the article’s audience for general Help Center visibility.
Next, at the top of the article, next to the Published status, use the Audience dropdown to select which customers Fin can use this article to answer, then click Publish to Fin Main.
How Help Center audience and Fin audience work together
Fin will only use an article to answer a customer’s question if both conditions are true:
The customer matches the Help Center audience rules (they can see the article in the Help Center).
The customer matches the Fin audience rules (Fin is allowed to share it with them).
Example
Your business has two plans: Basic and Pro.
An article about advanced features has a Help Center audience set to “Pro Plan customers”.
The same article has a Fin audience set to “Everyone”.
If a Basic Plan customer asks Fin about those features, Fin won’t use the article because the customer doesn’t meet the Help Center audience rules.
Need more help? Get support from our Community Forum
Find answers and get help from Intercom Support and Community Experts

